New sewing machine

Yup. I’d like to introduce my newest member of the family. Meet Janome MC6300 Professional:

tn_P1030958

Janome MC6300 Pro beside my Juki MO735 and my little Pfaff Select 3.0 (pink) in the background

I’ve been looking for a new sewing machine for quite some time, not because my beloved Pfaff Select 3.0 isn’t doing a great job, but because I’ve come to realise just how many stitches this little baby isn’t capable of doing after I started dabbling in garment construction. When I bought the Pfaff six years ago I only needed straight stitches and the occasional zigzag, as I was only making teddy bears back then. How things have changed! She is also in badly need of a tune-up and cleaning after taking a beating from me during the time we’ve lived together, but I couldn’t deal with the prospect of being without a sewing machine for a longer period of time.

I wanted a strong and durable machine that could do one-step buttonholes and sew through just about anything I fed it without complaining. I also wanted nothing less than a perfect straight stitch. I’ve read a tremendous lot of reviews and opinions on the Internet over the past three or so years, and followed the great sewing machine companies as they launched newer models at least once a year. This week I started a new hobby: Walking into a sewing machine shop and asking the people working there about which model they stocked that did the best buttonhole… I’ve heard many machine people praising their Husqvarna/Viking Opals and I also came across the Juki HZL F600 (which costs a lot here in Norway, it’s more than double the cost of a Viking Opal). For the money, the Juki didn’t impress at all – the tension was completely off and the guy demonstrating the machine couldn’t seem to do anything about it. Then I came across Janome’s Memory Craft 6300 Professionalย which is currently offered at a 30 % discount in most Norwegian sewing machine stores (this places it well below half the price of the aforementioned Juki) and fell in love with the specifications immediately. I got to try it in a store yesterday and I was hooked immediately. This big purring (yes, it purrs) baby came home with me and is waiting for some serious play time. I’ve tested some deco-stitches already, and I love them all ๐Ÿ™‚

Finally I have a way to sew great buttonholes and satin stitches (the two things I’ve missed most on my dear Pfaff), and the straight stitch was impeccable and done at a speed of 1000 stitches per minute. The machine is heavy (12 kg) and made from metal – can you believe it? I love to have something non-plasticy for a change. I was adviced to buy a buttonhole stabilizer with it that works the same way as the one that was demonstrated on the Juki I saw, and am looking forward for a bottonholey project for the first time – that part was always something I dreaded before. I’m so happy ๐Ÿ˜€

As for my Pfaff, I think some TLC and a new stitch plate (the current one is a bit battered) will do her good, and I’m considering re purposing her into a straight stitcher with help of a straight stitch plate. The straight stitch on this machine is still lovely, and she’ll sew through just about anything I can fit under her feet,ย and she’s got the IDT – under any circumstance she still has a home here along with her Juki and Janome siblings. I really ought to do a review series on my machines some day. At least the Pfaff, as that is a machine I’ve known and loved for years.

Happy Friday everyone, I’ll go back to my new play mate ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

