The great 2013

I started 2013 with fatigue and all the big questions – what did I want to/should I do with my life, what were the reasons for the things I’d already done, what made me happy, and did I really deserve happiness etc. I new sewing made me happy, and I saw it as a possible way out of the dark I’d found myself in, and so last year’s new year’s resolution was simply to sew more, learn more about clothing construction and live in the moment as I did this. In addition I wanted some professional help with the fatigue and I wanted to make peace with my past.

2013 turned out to be a great year – one of the best so far! I got better as spring went along, and I managed to apply to and get into my sewing course. I’ve had some closure as far as the past is concerned, and I’m better at being here and now instead of in the past and future simultaneously. I’ve bough a serger/coverstitch machine, I’ve been to Italy, I’ve made accessories for a dress, multiple skirts and dresses, a jacket, two shirts, a pair of pants, clothes for Barbie, shopping bags and a cute little bear couple. I’ve even participated in a sewing competition! I’ve started learning how to draft and alter patterns, how to design clothes, how to copy a ready-to wear garment, how to fit clothes properly, various new sewing techniques. I also started redecorating my sewing room – more on that to come – so far it’s turned out great!

IMAG3988 IMAG3992 tn_P1010979 tn_P1010986red tn_P1020056red tn_P1020047red tn_P1020081red tn_P1030014red tn_P1020427red tn_P1030144red tn_P1030296 tn_P1030301 tn_P1030312 tn_P1030321red tn_P1030325red tn_P1030340red tn_P1030344 tn_Utstilling Skjørt_07 tn_P1030512

I still don’t know what I want to do with my life, but that’s really OK! I look forward to finishing my sewing course, and hope the months to come will bring me at least some idea of what I should do when summer arrives. So far 2014 seems to be a great continuation of all that was fabulous about 2013, and I hope that turns out to be a fact. If not, something else is bound to happen that has equal chance of turning out good 🙂 I hope everyne out there enjoyed 2013 as much as I did, and wish everyone all the best for the year to come! Happy 2014!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

