Short woollen skirt

This week I’ve finally managed to do some sewing again. I started out making this top, only to find out that it certainly wasn’t my thing. Another UFO awaiting the magical time when it’s brought to life. Oh well.

Yesterday I started to sew a short skirt, and the only reason for not finishing it the same day was that I had to go out of town to find a decent zipper for my skirt. I may add the belt to the skirt later, but I think it works on it’s own as well.

The skirt pattern calls for a waist band made of the same material as the skirt, but as I found my woollen skirt fabric a bit on the itchy side, I decided to line it with acetate lining which was top stitched to the outer fabric.

I don’t remember the last time I wore a skirt this short, probably sometime during my years in junior high, when Spice Girls were the big thing, and it felt a bit strange to wear it today. However, I don’t think it looks that bad, and it certainly is a step in the right direction for my overall project, a makeover and renewal of my own wardrobe. I’ve worn the same type of clothes for at least ten years now, in different sizes as I’ve done a bit of yo-yo-ing weight-wise. If anyone out there have inputs on what to wear/not to wear based on the pictures in my blog, feel free to leave a comment about it!

That said, I found this skirt easy to work with, and I think it would suit anyone learning to sew clothes or wanting a quick and easy sewing project to work with. The pattern should be easy to alter as well, if one should want a longer skirt or more flare.

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Short woollen skirt

  1. Very nicely done! This looks great!

Leave a Reply

