Final exams

I’ve gone quiet again lately, and the reason is simply that I’ve got my plate full of high school exams in arts, crafts and sewing.

Last week we did a two days test on costume and stage designs and today I did a presentation of a hotel lounge that I spent the last couple of days crafting. I thought I’d show my scale model (1:10) of a hotel lobby that was supposed to encompass Scandinavian Design.

Overview

Overview

Front

Front

Seating

Seating

Recliners

Recliners

Media

Media

Newspapers

Newspapers

Looking through the window

Looking through the window

I made the chairs and couches from Lithuanian linen that I bought in Riga two years ago and quilt batting. I then made the legs and armrests from lollipop sticks. I made the newspaper rack from the same sticks and the rest is cardboard and print-outs of various pieces from the design period. You have Poul Henningsen’s artichoke lamp, Tapio Wirkkala’s X-frame table and Arne Jacobsen’s AJ lamp to name a few.

It was both terrifyingly exhausting and fun to work on this piece, and I’m really happy that I passed my exam and can enjoy my weekend. The overall impression was that my model encompassed more of the 70’s as opposed to the 50’s and 60’s when Scandinavian design was at its height. Oh well, I tried, and I still really like my little room 🙂 Only five more examinations to go 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Final exams

  1. That’s awesome work!!

Leave a comment