Finished dress

The last week of this semester turned out to be quite hectic. The dresses were finished and presented at the teachers’ Xmas party, which was nice.

tn_P1030512

After spending so much energy on this project I was exhausted, and I dare say I hated my dress. In fact I hated it to the point where I could not begin to describe it in a blog post. Now, 2 weeks later, I’ve managed to look at the photos once more, and it’s not as bad as I thought, luckily. At the presentation I was just sick of my own design, and thought all the other designs to be better, but I realised, even at the time, that the reason was mainly that I’d just spent 2 weeks working on my design only.

Here’s my dress, based on Yann Arthus Bertrand’s photo from Miami, and it’s not half bad. As it was put together, I envisioned it in all bright jewel tones, which is probably how I would make it if I controlled the fabric choices. Perhaps sometime in the future I’ll dig out my pattern and make it in bright coloured silks, who knows.

What I really like on this dress, is the asymmetrical hem, and the fact that it’s curve meets the curves on the upper part of the dress – although I would definitely not recommend having so many fabric pieces meet at one point – it was the most difficult part to sew on the whole dress! I remember liking the idea of combining the curved lines on the front with basic back panels, and I think it worked, especially with the front curve continuing in under the arm towards the back, as my teacher suggested.

tn_P1030500 tn_P1030501 tn_P1030502 tn_P1030503 tn_P1030504

Our materials were poly-wool blends and the dress is made with a facing in the bodice, where I plan to attach a lining if the dress fits me well enough to wear – we worked only with standard sizes with no fitting involved.

The whole experience has been valuable, and I loved using simple in a picture as design inspiration. Next time I’ll just make sure to stay inside my little bubble and not accumulate stress while working on a project.

A bonus of working on “the same” project as the rest of my class, is the sheer amount of inspiration I get when we’ve all finished our work – my classmates are by no means lacking in the creativity department!

All in all, I can only recommend working with lines from a picture as design inspiration :)

2 Comments

Filed under Patternmaking, Sewing

2 responses to “Finished dress

  1. Wonderful dress. Looks like it took you many, many hours to do. One day I’d love to be able to make my own clothes. My brother is at University and is doing a fashion design course. His work is absolutely fantastic and the things he and his class come up with? Wow! Love to see what you make next :)

    • Thank you, that’s so nice of you!
      It looks to me (quick sweep on your blog) as you’re well on your way – you’re certainly no stranger to clothing construction, and I started out sewing teddy bears too, many years ago, long before I started making clothes :) Sounds like your brother should make a simple design for you to sew ;)

Leave a Reply

