Seek and you shall find

New sewing course project, the last before Christmas. We shall design and sew a basic fitted dress with a straight skirt. The design should evolve from one or more lines found in an “Earth from above“-photo by Yann Arthus Bertrand. We got five photos; The Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, the Gardens at the Chateau of Vaux-le-Vicomte, Houses near Miami, Fields in the Missiones province of Argentine and the Pyramid of the Louvre.

I spent some time looking at the photos through a transparent dress silhouette and taking photos of what I found. I ended with the photo from the Miami suburbs, as the intersection in the upper left quadrant drew my attention. I’ve got several photos of dresses with this intersection on them, and now I just have to pick a couple and develop sketches from these. Next week we’ll make the patterns for our dresses and start assembling it. The deadline is two weeks from now.

tn_P1030489 tn_P1030486 tn_P1030478 tn_P1030474 tn_P1030472 tn_P1030441 tn_P1030458 tn_P1030434

I really enjoy garments with interesting lines, and I think I could spend a lifetime creating garment designs based on the wonderful pictures from Mr. Bertrand.  Such colours and amazing lines!

 

Oh. And here’s the skirt I’ve been working on. I just have to get it fitted before I can finish it.

Skjørt_07 tn_P1030419

Leave a comment

Filed under Patternmaking, Sewing

Leave a Reply

