Black sateen skirt

I made this skirt from The BurdaStyle Sewing Handbook. The fabric is black cotton sateen – Moonless Night from HarmonyArt which I bought from Fair Trade Fabric.

Both the pattern and the fabric were great to work with. The fabric wrinkles easily, which you can see below – this is just after wearing it to school one day, but otherwise it’s got great stability. I cut the pattern in the size I should be now according to the book, but as with other BurdaStyle patterns I had to take it in some for the skirt to fit, and even now it’s a bit big.

tn_P1030321red tn_P1030322red tn_P1030323red

I lengthened the skirt a bit and ditched the overskirt. All the seams, except the one with a zipper in the back, are flat-felled, which make a nice detail on a durable skirt.

All in all I’m happy with this – I’ve longed for a basic skirt which can be worn with everything in my closet – you can’t go wrong with black. I also really like the subtle sheen on the cotton sateen.

I’ll definitely make this skirt again in a smaller size and other fabrics. And HarmonyArt is on my watch-list for new fabrics once I punch a hole in my ever-growing stash.

2 Comments

Filed under Sewing

2 responses to “Black sateen skirt

  1. Lookin’ good! Thanks for trying Harmony Art organic fabrics. I hope you do have a chance to use them more. :)

    • Thank you Harmony! As I said in the post, I loved working with this fabric and will definitely use your fabrics in the future :) I plan to make at least one dress from the remaining Moonless Night I have left.

Leave a Reply

