Wedding dress project part 2

So far, knee length skirts are made with 1/2, 3/4 and 2/3 circle width, and I think I’m going with the 2/3 circle skirt – I love a wide skirt with petticoats, but it shouldn’t be too wide either. The 3/4 and 1/2 circle skirts are shown below, with a full circle petticoat, together with the basic top from Mary Adams.

As my waist is fairly high compared to my height, I’ve found that a lower waistline on a dress will be preferable to the high waistlines used in the Mary Adams pattern. I’ve elongated her pattern by approx. 7 centimeters, and altered the neckline on the front and back. This new pattern will be my basis for the dress top. Further experiments include a deeper neckline in front and different placement of the shoulder straps.

It’s still a possibility that I’m goingwith a different skirt length, even though the knee length works fine.

In addition to my dress, I plan to sew a coat to go with it, based on this pattern: http://www.burdastyle.com/pattern_store/patterns/nora. In front it will have the same length as the skirt on the dress, and be a bit longer in the back. I still have to figure out what to do with the sleeves.

That’s all for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

